When is it Too Late to Get a Lawyer for a Car Accident in Tennessee?

September 13 2023 | TN Car Accident Lawyer Blog
  • When is it too late to hire a car accident lawyer in Tennessee?

    After you’re injured in a car accident in Tennessee, you will likely face many obstacles and challenges. When confronted with these challenges, it is crucial for car accident victims to consult with experienced car accident lawyers as soon as possible. Negotiating with insurance companies, obtaining evidence, documenting your injuries, and seeking treatment can be a significant drain on time and resources. Additionally, each case comes with strict deadlines that must be met. Missing a deadline can end with your claim being forever barred, and you will be unable to obtain the compensation you deserve. It is better to speak with an attorney about your case sooner rather than later to allow your legal team ample time to build the strongest case possible for you. While it is preferable to have legal representation soon after your collision, those injured in Tennessee car crashes typically have 1 year to take legal action. However, there are exceptions to this law that can provide car accident victims extensions, which we will discuss below.


    The Importance of Having a Tennessee Car Accident Lawyer

    When you’ve been injured in a car accident, seeking legal help is crucial. Car accidents can be traumatic, in addition to being mentally, physically, and financially draining. Having to deal with doctors, the insurance company, and a growing stack of medical bills is overwhelming for most victims. The good news is hiring a car accident lawyer can help relieve some of the burdens stemming from your collision so that you can focus on your recovery and getting healthy. A car accident lawyer will help gather evidence, fight the insurance company, and make sure you receive the compensation you deserve.

    Car accident cases can be complex, confusing, and demanding. Our injury law firm knows how to fight for you. We’ve been fighting for accident victims for over 35 years. When you hire us, our team of Tennessee injury lawyers will begin working on your claim right away, ensuring that your personal injury case has the best shot at a successful resolution and, equally as important, ensuring that you are able to focus on your medical treatment and your personal life.


    Get a Tennessee Accident Attorney Sooner Rather than Later

    A mistake many people make when they are injured in a car accident is not seeking legal help right away. This may be due to many victims not noticing the severity of their injuries in the immediate aftermath of a car wreck. Some injuries take days or weeks to appear, such as whiplash or Traumatic brain injuries (TBIs). Although you may not experience pain or notice your injuries right away, seeking legal representation as soon as you realize you’ve been harmed is strongly encouraged.

    Receiving a free consultation from an experienced Tennessee car accident lawyer will help you navigate the legal world and make sure you get the compensation you deserve. By hiring a car accident lawyer at Hughes & Coleman, you can rest assured knowing our legal team will work tirelessly to get the maximum value available to you for your injuries.

    Tennessee Statues of Limitations

    Every state in the United States has what is called a statute of limitations. A statute of limitations is a law that limits the amount of time an individual has to bring a lawsuit against the negligent party. Statutes of limitations exist for several reasons, including to protect potential defendants from evidence that may have deteriorated over time or from witness testimony that may be inaccurate. As years pass, information may be lost, and memories may fade. Statutes of limitations are in place to avoid inaccuracies in trial that could impact a case.  These limitations vary state to state and range from one year to six years.

    According to Tennessee’s statute of limitations, you must bring a car accident injury lawsuit against the negligent party within one year of the incident. The court can render your claim invalid after this deadline. There are few exceptions to this one-year rule:

    Victim is a minor: If the victim is a minor, they are granted 1 year from their 18th birthday to bring a civil claim. However, this doesn’t mean a minor – or a guardian acting on behalf of a minor – must wait to take legal action. Getting a personal injury attorney started on their case sooner rather than later is still advisable. The exception to the statute of limitations simply gives those who were injured as minors additional protections under the law and allows them to file a lawsuit once they are legally an adult.

    Wrongful death: If a car accident victim eventually dies due to injuries or complications from the wreck, surviving family members are granted a year from the date of death to file a lawsuit. This differs from the statute of limitations for a standard injury in that the time limit to file will only begin counting down after the individual passes. If an individual does not immediately die in a collision and passes several months later due to complications, the 1-year deadline will start at the date of their death.


    After a Car Accident: Initial Steps 

    There are few simple steps you should take after a car accident to ensure your safety and the integrity of your claim. If you choose to pursue a claim in effort to recover compensation for your injuries, taking these initial steps will help ensure you get the money you deserve.

    Check on all drivers and passengers: Make sure everyone involved in the accident is okay. Get medical attention straight away for anyone who has been seriously injured.

    Contact emergency personnel: Call law enforcement and emergency medical services if there are any injuries. If no serious injuries are reported, an officer may not come to the scene. If an officer does not respond to the collision, make sure to file a police report.

    Exchange information: Obtain contact information of the other driver(s) involved in the car accident, including names, phone numbers, driver’s license numbers, license plate numbers, and their insurance information.

    Take pictures: Take photographs or videos of any vehicle damage after the accident. Make sure to get photos that capture the entire scene, as well as any contributing factors to the crash (such as road or weather conditions). If you have visible injuries, take photos of them as well, if you are able.

    Talk to witnesses: Ask every witness at the scene what they saw and get their contact information.

    Be consistent with treatment: If you’ve been hurt, seek medical attention so you may begin treating your injuries immediately. Your health care provider will determine a treatment plan and how frequently you will need to be seen by medical professionals. Consistency is key, both for your physical recovery and for your injury case; avoid cancelling or skipping appointments, as any unexplained gaps in treatment will only harm your case. Keep records of any doctors, physical therapists, chiropractors, or any other medical professionals from whom you receive medical care. Keep a detailed account of what treatments and/or medications you receive, including all medical bills you incur due to the incident.

    Use caution when discussing the incident: Avoid discussing details of your injuries, especially on social media. The insurance company can and will use what you post on social media against you if given the opportunity. Save any discussions about your injuries for your health care providers, your caregivers, and your attorney.

    Be wary of early settlement offers: Insurance companies are inclined to pay you as little as possible to keep their business profitable. The adjuster will often offer lowball settlements to those who don’t have an attorney. You don’t have to accept an insufficient settlement! Negotiating with the insurance company alone is risky, especially if you’re still treating your injuries. A personal injury lawyer you hire will look out for your best interests to get you the best offer possible.

    Contact a Tennessee injury lawyer: While the insurance company has every reason to offer injured victims as little as possible, our Tennessee injury attorneys are motivated to get you the highest compensation that is available to you. That’s because we work on a contingency fee, which means we don’t get paid unless we can obtain compensation for you. We don’t get paid if you don’t get paid – it’s that simple.


    Get Our Tennessee Car Accident Attorneys and Get It Done.

    We know that your world does not simply stop moving after a car accident injury. Medical bills will arrive; rent will be due; treatment and appointments will need to be scheduled; family obligations will still occur. When you’re hurt, struggling, and potentially unable to work, little stressors in everyday life quickly begin adding up. A year may seem like a significant amount of time to bring a lawsuit against a negligent party; however, when you’re dealing with overwhelming obstacles, the deadline to file suit can quickly pass you by. You don’t have to face this battle alone or accept an insufficient settlement due to time constraints in Tennessee’s statute of limitation laws. Let us take some of the burden off your shoulders and fight on your behalf. Our Tennessee auto accident attorneys at Hughes & Coleman will work to obtain medical records, collect evidence, schedule appointments with the right health care providers if needed, and build the strongest case possible so you obtain maximum compensation.


    If you’ve been injured due to someone else’s negligence, get Hughes & Coleman and Get It Done. Call us today at 800-800-4600 or fill out a free case evaluation form. You’ll never pay any upfront fees to speak with our legal team and get us working on your case from the start, and you won’t owe us anything if we’re unable to help.

Blog Sidebar Form

  • Get It Done.


  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Get In Touch Today!

We offer free consultations 24/7 and there will always be someone here to take your call. Call our personal injury lawyers today for a free consultation or fill out this form and we will contact you.

We serve clients across Tennessee and Kentucky and we have several offices throughout both states. See all of our locations and contact us today.

Kentucky Locations


1256 Campbell Ln #201

Bowling Green, KY 42104

Phone: (270) 782-6000



2110 N Dixie Hwy #102

Elizabethtown, KY 42701

Phone: (270) 737-0640



5004 Poplar Level Rd

Louisville, KY 40219

Phone: (502) 585-4025



3618 Dixie Hwy

Louisville, KY 40216

Phone: (502) 585-4693



211 E New Circle Rd

Lexington, KY 40505

Phone: (859) 260-1722


Tennessee Locations


446 James Robertson Pkwy #100

Nashville, TN 37219

Phone: (615) 255-9100



1501 Memorial Blvd

Murfreesboro, TN 37129

Phone: (615) 907-0687



323 N Riverside Dr #100

Clarksville, TN 37040

Phone: (931) 546-7200



622 W 7th St

Columbia, TN 38401

Phone: (931) 505-7040



126 W Eastland Ave

Gallatin, TN 37066

Phone: (615) 451-4288