]

How To Get a Police Report After a Car Accident in Louisville, KY

August 07 2023 | Louisville Car Accident Lawyer Blog
  • How to get a police report after a car accident in Louisville, KY

    If your crash report was filed with the Louisville Police Department, you can obtain a copy of the accident report online. There is a fee of $10. If you filed your accident report through the Kentucky State Police Department, you can obtain a copy by mail. It will take up to three business days for your request to process.

    If you’ve been injured in a car accident in Louisville, our personal injury lawyers can obtain your police report on your behalf. Let us get your injury claim off to the best start possible.

    Call us today at 800-800-4600

     

     

     

    Table of Contents:

    Why should you file a police report after an auto accident in Louisville?

    It is well known that the Louisville Police Department is understaffed, and many times, the police may not come to the scene to investigate a motor vehicle accident. If you have been in a car accident, and the police do not respond to the scene, it is in your best interest to file a report on your own, and in certain circumstances, you are also required do so by law.

    Car accidents happen quickly, and when they occur, injuries may not be immediately apparent. This is often the case with injuries such as whiplash, or a brain injury that may take time to manifest.

    Having the official accident report filed will help ensure that the incident is documented through the proper channels, and will help an attorney assist you in recovering compensation from the insurance company for any medical expenses, property damage, lost wages, pain and suffering, or other damages you may have incurred.

    Do I need to file a police report for an accident in Louisville?

    As of 2024, according to KRS 189.635(4), any individual driving a vehicle in Kentucky involved in an accident that causes personal injury or death to any party, property damage exceeding five hundred dollars ($500), and where no law enforcement officer conducts an investigation, must submit a written accident report to the Department of Kentucky State Police within ten (10) days of the accident. The report should be completed using forms provided by the department.

    How long do you have to file a police report after a car accident in Louisville?

    Man calling to file a Louisville police report after a car accident

    Louisville follows Kentucky state law, which requires individuals to file a collision report within ten (10) days of the accident if you are involved in a wreck that:

    • Resulted in property damage of more than five hundred dollars ($500).
    • Caused personal injury or death to any party.
    • Or was not already investigated by police at the scene.

    The police will usually come to the scene of a serious accident, and if the accident report was filled out by an officer at the scene, you do not need to submit a report on your own. If the police do not come to the scene, you will be responsible for submitting the report online.

    You can also submit the Civilian Traffic Collision Report Form (PDF) by mail. If you opt to send your report by mail, make two copies before sending so that you can keep one copy for your records.

    Kentucky State Police Records
    Attn: Crash
    1266 Louisville Road
    Frankfort, KY 40601

    Do not send any photos, insurance cards, or any other documents, as they are not accepted and will be shredded and destroyed. Send only the form.

    What happens if you don’t file a police report after an accident?

    In Kentucky, not providing immediate oral notice of a reportable accident can result in a fine ranging from $20 to $100. Similarly, failing to submit a written accident report, when required, may also lead to a fine ranging from $20 to $100.

    Failing to file a report after a crash can cost you considerably more down the road if you have been injured. While it’s not the only determinant of fault, the report serves as a crucial piece of documentation that can heavily influence the insurance company’s decisions and affect your chances of pursuing a personal injury claim and lawsuit. If you’ve been injured in a wreck due to someone else’s negligence, it is in your best interest to ensure a police report is filed so that you can receive the compensation you’re entitled to.

    Why is it important to make sure a police report is properly filed after a collision?

    Having an accurate account of what happened after a car wreck is critical. If you documented the crash scene yourself, this evidence will be helpful, but having the collision formally and accurately documented by authorities will help provide a non-bias account of contributing factors, which can help protect you if the other driver attempts to make false claims, or if fault is questioned after the crash by your insurance company.

    A motor vehicle accident report can help ensure that your version of events are accounted for, which can later be supported by additional evidence that you or your car accident lawyer obtain.

    How long does a police report take?

    Louisville car accident police report

    It can take 7-10 business days for the agency to complete a report in Louisville. However, when seeking to obtain your report, LexusNexus (BuyCrash) can provide you with a notification to alert you when it’s ready.

    To locate an accident report, you will need:

    • Your report number
    • The report date
    • Driver’s last name or owner’s last name

    If you do not have or know your report number, you can contact the Louisville Police Department and ask them to provide it, which they will do via email.

    Does a police report say who was at fault?

    Insurance companies may use a police report to assume fault, however, it is important to understand that the police report is the officer’s evaluation of the circumstances, and it does not exclusively determine fault. A car accident lawyer, for example, may uncover additional information and evidence to prove fault and determine liability for damages on your behalf.

    Additionally, if there was a responding officer who completed the official accident report, don’t assume that the information is entirely accurate. It is possible that the report includes information that is incorrect, and you should verify all of the information once the accident report is available.

    Do you need a police report to file an insurance claim in Kentucky?

    Yes. Your policy requires you to file a report with the appropriate authorities in order to file a claim in Kentucky.

    What is included in a Louisville car accident report?

    A police report is impartial and reflects the perspective of a law enforcement officer who is not biased toward determining who is at fault in an auto accident. The report provides an objective view of various aspects of the car collision, including:

    • The precise location of the car accident.
    • The date and time the auto accident occurred and the report date.
    • The accident report number.
    • The extent of damage to vehicles involved and other property resulting from the accident.
    • The type of accident and nature of the collision (rear-end collision, a sideswipe crash, or T-bone car accident, etc.)
    • Injuries sustained by drivers, passengers, pedestrians, or others involved.
    • Statements and identifying information of witnesses to the crash.
    • Accounts from drivers about their perspective of the accident.
    • Environmental information at the time of the accident.
    • Other essential facts related to the incident, including if it was a hit-and-run car accident, or if you were hit by a drunk driver

    Regardless of whether you find yourself on the plaintiff’s or defendant’s side in a legal case following an auto accident, possessing a police report can significantly benefit you. An official document carries substantial weight and is considered more accurate by all parties involved, including a jury. Having the opinion of a law enforcement officer regarding the accident proves to be invaluable in such situations.

    Are car accident reports public record in Kentucky?

    Accident Reports are not public records. In Kentucky, accident reports are typically confidential and can only be accessed by certain parties under specific circumstances. These parties may include:

    1. The parties to the accident, including a passenger injured in the accident
    2. The parents or guardians of a minor who is party to the accident;
    3. Insurers or their written designee for insurance business purposes of any party who is the subject of the report;
    4. The car accident attorney representing you, and attorneys of other parties to the accident;
    5. Any party to litigation who files with the department a request for the report and includes a copy of the first page of a District or Circuit Court clerk-stamped complaint naming all parties;  and
    6. The Department of Workplace Standards in the Labor Cabinet if the accident report is pertinent to an occupational safety and health investigation.

    However, the department may disclose the identity of someone involved in an accident when that identity is not known or when the person denies their presence at the accident. The purpose is to ensure accountability and facilitate proper handling of the incident.

    The report can also be made accessible to a news-gathering organization, though there are strict processes in place to ensure that all personal information is redacted or removed from the report prior to distributing it to the organization. This is done to keep the identities of those involved in the accident confidential.

    An experienced car accident attorney can help

    If you’ve been injured in a car accident, contact Hughes & Coleman today. Our legal team can help obtain a copy of your car accident report on your behalf, and can help ensure that you receive the most money possible.

    We offer free case evaluations, and if we don’t obtain a settlement or victory on your behalf, we don’t get paid.

    CALL TODAY

    800-800-4600

    Get it done.

     

Blog Sidebar Form

  • Get It Done.

    FREE CASE EVALUATION

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Get In Touch Today!

We offer free consultations 24/7 and there will always be someone here to take your call. Call our personal injury lawyers today for a free consultation or fill out this form and we will contact you.

We serve clients across Tennessee and Kentucky and we have several offices throughout both states. See all of our locations and contact us today.

Kentucky Locations


BOWLING GREEN

1256 Campbell Ln #201

Bowling Green, KY 42104

Phone: (270) 782-6000

VIEW MAP

ELIZABETHTOWN

2110 N Dixie Hwy #102

Elizabethtown, KY 42701

Phone: (270) 737-0640

VIEW MAP

LOUISVILLE POPLAR LEVEL

5004 Poplar Level Rd

Louisville, KY 40219

Phone: (502) 585-4025

VIEW MAP

LOUISVILLE DIXIE

3618 Dixie Hwy

Louisville, KY 40216

Phone: (502) 585-4693

VIEW MAP

LEXINGTON

211 E New Circle Rd

Lexington, KY 40505

Phone: (859) 260-1722

VIEW MAP

Tennessee Locations


NASHVILLE

446 James Robertson Pkwy #100

Nashville, TN 37219

Phone: (615) 255-9100

VIEW MAP

MURFREESBORO

1501 Memorial Blvd

Murfreesboro, TN 37129

Phone: (615) 907-0687

VIEW MAP

CLARKSVILLE

323 N Riverside Dr #100

Clarksville, TN 37040

Phone: (931) 546-7200

VIEW MAP

COLUMBIA

622 W 7th St

Columbia, TN 38401

Phone: (931) 505-7040

VIEW MAP

GALLATIN

126 W Eastland Ave

Gallatin, TN 37066

Phone: (615) 451-4288

VIEW MAP